UB Honours Outstanding Alumni

UB Honours Outstanding Alumni

Alumni of the classes of 1978, 1988, 1998 and 2008 were among the inductees of the UB Alumni Hall of Fame, and recipients of the Outstanding Alumni Award, Trailblazer and Emerging Leaders Award respectively at the University’s Hall of Fame and Outstanding Alumni Awards held at Baha Mar during the evening of Thursday, 8th November 2018.

Mr. Delton Bain Sr., a well-known pharmacist and Mrs. Vernelle Carey a passionate educator are the newest member of the Alumni Hall of Fame as they commemorate their 40th reunion year.

Information and Communications Technology specialist Mr. Jeffery Walcott and Dr. Ian Strachan, educator, playwright and author were bestowed the Outstanding Alumni Award. They are among the alumni who are celebrating their 30th reunion.

Mr. Marcus Laing, a pioneering architect and Mr. Darvin Toussaint a campus life guru; both 20th reunion celebrants were distinguished as the Trailblazer Awardees.

A category dominated by creatives, the Emerging Leader Alumni recipients were media magnate Anastarcia Huyler-Palacious and Matthew Wildgoose a visual and performing artist extraordinaire.

The evening was filled with great entertainment by Jam Session, an ensemble of UB alumni; impeccable hosting by Mr. Kyle Walkine also a UB alum and delectable dining. A festive mood followed the formalities with dancing and caricature drawings for a most memorable event.

In early 2019, UB will release its Call for Nomination to the public for nominees for the 2019 Hall of Fame and Outstanding Alumni Awards for members of the classes of 1979, 1989, 1999 and 2009.

For more images, visit our Facebook link.